Elaine Osborne Jacobson Award
Deadline: April 15, 2008

Elaine Osborne Jacobson Award
For Women Working in Health Care Law

The award was established in 1991 in honor of the late Elaine Osborne Jacobson, wife of Richard S. Jacobson, and an advocate for the health care needs of under-served populations. The award recognizes women law students with an aptitude for and commitment to a career of advocacy for the health care needs of women, children, the elderly, and disabled persons.

The 2006 award was presented to Amanda Kay Edwards from the Havard University Law School.

Nomination Rules
Each nominee must qualify under the following criteria:

The candidate shall be a woman currently enrolled in an accredited North American law school on a full- or part-time basis who through her law school academic and clinical work and other related activities demonstrates her aptitude for and a long-term commitment to a legal career of advocacy on behalf of the health care needs of children, women, the elderly or the disabled. Multiple nominations per law school may be made.

Each nominee must submit:

  • Hard copy of all the materials listed below;

  • Computer disc with the materials written by the nominee himself/herself (CV and
    the nominee' statements). The documents must be in Microsoft Word or WordPerfect format.

The submission of additional material is not encouraged.

  1. A letter from the Dean, clinical program director, or law school professor teaching in a related area nominating the candidate and setting forth the basis for the nomination, including a description of the purposes and content of the clinical program and/or class.

  2. The applicant's current curriculum vitae (electronic copy required).

  3. A brief personal statement of no more than three pages highlighting the applicant's
    background, experience, and other relevant information that qualify her to win the Elaine Osborne Jacobson Award, and also describing how the applicant plans to use her
    your current law school/clinical experience (electronic copy required).

  4. A statement of no more than a single page discussing the applicant's views of the civil
    justice system as a means of achieving a safe society (electronic copy required).

  5. At least one, but no more than three, letter of recommendation from a law school faculty and/or practicing attorney who has personally taught or supervised the nominee's work.

  6. Renominations: You must submit all materials even if you were nominated in prior years.

  7. Multiple nominations per law school may be made. Only one winner will be chosen.

  8. Submission deadline is April 15.


Prize: $3,000

Elaine Osborne Jacobson Award
Attn: Law School Awards
Pound Civil Justice Institute
1050 31st Street, NW,
Washington, DC 20007


(faxed nominations will not be accepted)